Home      Events      Contact      Links      Membership      Photos

Downloads      Sites associated with the removal 


We hope you take time to visit our website and consider becoming a member of the Alabama Chapter Trail of Tears Association



Saturday May 11th, 2013


The public is invited to attend the Alabama Chapter, Trail of Tears Association's (ALTOTA) Panel Discussion/Chapter Meeting on May 11th, 2013 in recognition of the 175th Anniversary of the Trail of Tears.


Cherokee Indians were forcibly removed from North Alabama in 1838-1839. The panel discussion will address current research regarding Cherokee Indian removal and will be held at Northeast Alabama Community College, (NEACC) located between Rainsville and Section, Alabama. We will have several very special guests from NEACC attending the meeting, including including the President of NEACC, Dr. David Campbell and the Director of Learning Resources/Library at NEACC, Dr. Julia Everett, and History Professor Blake Wilhelm.

When:      Saturday May 11th, 2013

Where:     Northeast Alabama Community College,

                     Cecil B. Word Learning Resources Center, Room, 101

Time:       11:00 A.M. - 12:30 P.M.

Topic:      Current Research of Cherokee Indian Removal from N. Alabama in 1838 & 1839

Parking:   AVAILABLE - Students graduated on May 10th and most will not be on campus


PANELISTS:                TOPIC:

Olivia B. Cox               Research on Spirit - John Huss, A Significant Cherokee Man

Danny K. Crownover     Presentation of new Way Side Sign Images

Sharon A. Freeman     The Trail of Tears in North Alabama, Forts, Routes, and Archaeology

Larry Smith                 Gunter's Landings, Creek Path & Camp Morrow

Mike Wren                  Digitizing National Archives Research -

                                      Treasury Settled Accounts of Removal


THE MEETING IS FREE TO ALL - We hope to see you there!




Question? Please contact: sfreman1@memphis.edu




                       Directions to the campus, link  HERE

                               Campus map - Link  HERE

                 10:00 A.M. - Board Meeting

                11:00 A.M. - Membership Meeting




May 2013            new!

Summer 2012

Winter 2011

A Tribute to Gail King


The Trail of Tears Association (TOTA) is a non-profit, membership organization formed to support the creation, development, and interpretation of the Trail of Tears National Historic Trail. Designated as a national historic trail by Congress in 1987, the Trail commemorates the forced removal of the Cherokee people from their homelands in the southeastern United States to Indian Territory (present-day Oklahoma) in 1838 - 1839.

In 1993, the Association entered into a cooperative agreement with the National Park Service (NPS) to promote and engage in the protection and preservation of Trail of Tears National Historic Trail resources; to promote awareness of the Trail's legacy, including the effects of the U.S. Government's Indian Removal Policy on the Cherokees and other tribes (primarily the Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee Creek, and Seminole); and to perpetuate the management and development techniques that are consistent with the National Park Service's trail plan.

TOTA, a citizens' organization of national and international members, has state chapters in the nine states through which the Trail traverses. These states are Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Tennessee. State chapters address the more specific issues in each state, such as membership development, chapter organization and other efforts that assist the Association and the National Park Service in achieving their goals and objectives.


Read about the story of the Trail of Tears


Beautiful Cherokee flute music and video pertaining to the Trail of Tears


From "Andrew Jackson - The Atrocious Saint" - Submitted by Christopher Hedge featuring David Grisman and R. Carlos Nakai. Performed by R.Carlos Nakai, this is edited from the film "Andrew Jackson: Good, Evil and the Presidency" by Carl Byker and Mitch Wilson.


Click here to become a member of the Trail of Tears Association!


The membership form is in PDF format. You will need Acrobat Reader to view it. You can download Adobe Acrobat Reader free of charge from Adobe's website.




















































The Alabama Chapter

Trail of Tears Association






Officers & Board Members

  • Sharon Freeman, President

  • Mike Wren, Vice President
  • Shannon Sloan, Secretary
  • Larry Smith, Treasurer

Board Members

  • Danny Crownover - webmaster
  • Olivia Baxter
  • Marty King


Total visitors since 10/26/09





View Guestbook 


















































































Free Guestbook by UltraGuest.com